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NOTICE OF MANUFACTURED HOME, MOBILEHOME OR COMMERCIAL MODULAR
INSTALLATION ON A FOUNDATION SYSTEM

GENERAL GUIDE & INSTRUCTIONS

Prior to installation a building permit to construct a foundation system and install a unit(s}) must be obtained from the
enforcement agency. To apply for a building permit the owner, dealer or contractor must comply with certain

provisions of the California Health and Safety Code Section 18551 as follows:

1)

2)

3)
4)

5)
6)

7

Provide evidence that the registered owner of the unit(s) to be installed either holds title or is purchasing the real property
on which the installation is to be made, or holds a transferable lease on the property with a term of 35 years or more. If the

_term of the lease is less than 35 years, the term must be mutually agreed to by the lessor and lessee and may not be

revocable by the lessor, except for cause.

Provide written evidence that the registered owner owns the unit(s) free of any liens or if there is a lienholder(s), that
lienholder(s) has consented to the ptacement of the unit(s) on a foundation system as an improvement to the underlying
property.

Note: An enforcement agency may obtain a title search from the Department of Housing and Community Development
(HCD)}, Registration and Titling Program. The information on the title search may be compared fo the information shown
on the surrendered HCD Certificate of Title or Department of Molor Vehicle (DMV) pink slip(s) and registration card(s) (see
befow). This will ensure that the most recent ownership and registration documents have been submitted fo the
enforcement agency and that the registered owner owns the unil(s) free of any llens or encumbrances. Where the title
soarch indicates a recorded legal owner or junior lienholder, or both, evidence should be provided to the enforcement
agency that the legal owner or junior lienholder, or both, have been paid in full or thal the legal owner or Junior llenholder,
or hoth, consent to the attachment of the unit(s} upon the satisfaction of their liens by the registered owner.

Provide plans and specifications required by HCD regulations. ’

Provide the approved manufacturers installation instructions or plans and specifications signed by a licensed California
architect or engineer covering the instaliation of the unit(s).

Pay building permit fees as required by the local jurisdiction issuing the building permit.

Complete an original and three copies of the form HCD 433A with all information available at the time thé building permit is
issued for the installation of a manufactured home or commercial modular unit(s).

Pay a state fee of eleven dollars ($11.00) per transportable section and submit with form HCD 433A.

After installation is complete and prior to_issuance of a form HCD 513C, Certificate of Occupancy, the following

requirements must be met: }
1) If the unit(s) has(have) been sold to the owner by a dealer, all information not originally available to complete the form

2)

3)

4

HCD 433A (Rev. 07/2011)

HCD 433A [ie., manufacturer name, serial number(s), date of manufaciure, dealers ficense number and HCD
insignia(s)/HUD label number(s)] must be completed. Incomplete forms will be returned for completion.
If the unit(s) is(are) owned by the individual requesting installation, the following items are required to be surrendered to
the local building department prior to issuance of a Certificate of Occupancy:

o Certificate of Title and Registration issued by either HCD or DMV,

o Any license plates or decals issued by either HCD or DMV.

CAUTION: DO NOT REMOVE THE HCD INSIGNIA(S)HUD LABEL(S) THAT CERTIFY THE COMPLIANGE OF THE UNIT(S).
When the form HCD 433A is completed, with all required information and all titles, certificates, plates or decals (i required)
surrendered, a Certificate of Occupancy, may be issued and the form HCD 433A recorded with the county recorder. The
owner is to be provided with a copy of the form HCD 433B, Notice to Assessor, by the local building department. The
owner is required to complete and submit the Notice to Assessor to the county assessor.

On the day the Cettificate of Occupancy is issued, the enforcement agency shall record this document with the county
recerders office. _

Once recorded, the enforcement agency shall transmit all of the following: the recorded copy of the form HCD 433A; a
copy of the Certificate of Occupancy; fees collected in the amount of eleven dollars ($11.00) per transportable section;
and, if unit currently tifled as personal properly, all applicable titles, certificates, license plates or registration decals to:

Department of Housing and Community Development
Division of Codes and Standards

Registration and Titling Program

Post Office Box 2111

Sacramento, CA 95812-2111

For information on establishing a requestor account for obtaining title search printouts on-line, call
(916) 323-9229 or submit a request via the internet at http:/iwww.hed.ca.gov/codes/irt/. For general

information or questions, call (916) 445-3338.

GENERAL GUIDE AND INSTRUCTIONS




